Thanks to everyone who showed up to read Othello on February 15 at the library. The reading went wonderfully with all the readers adopting their assigned characters and reading with great gusto!

I mentioned to one of the readers (Linda) that even the not too bright characters like Brabantio and Roderigo have these beautiful lines in the play, leading me to remember the opening lines of D.H. Lawrence‘s rather snide poem “When I Read Shakespeare–“:

When I read Shakespeare I am struck with wonder
that such trivial people should muse and thunder
in such lovely language

I just detected a note of irony in my comments about Brabantio and Roderigo. Here we are, probably trivial people in Lawrence’s view of things,(of course excluding any one reading this who claims nobility or that has been born great or achieved greatness!) siding with Shakespeare in this and claiming the glorious language to be our own, even if only for one Sunday afternoon a month!

Coming back to Othello, I forgot to mention this during the meeting, but I was curious to see if anyone would detect the few lines of the play where Othello mistakenly thinks he directly hears a dying confession from Cassio. Happy hunting and let me know if you cannot find it, I can point the section of the play out to you!

As far as our next play is concerned, I tallied the votes up and “The Tempest” came out on top. We will be reading this play on March 22 at 1:00 p.m. at the Plymouth District Library. The play is quite short, so there is no need to meet up early.

Finally, with the Shakespeare Seminar Class at PCEP being done for the year, we got the drop in attendance that I anticipated . I hope to keep the group going through the summer, so please consider attending even if you have not made a reading so far. Since we focus on a single play each meeting, you can bow in and out of the readings without any loss. Based on the feedback I have received, most of the readers enjoy the experience very much and the play jumps off the page becoming a unique living and breathing organism when read aloud by a diverse group of people.

Prashant Andrade

