Thanks to everyone who showed up to read “Henry IV, Part 1” at the Plymouth Library yesterday. I think most of the readers would agree that we had a wonderful reading and I loved the many moments of spontaneous laughter (stifled, suppressed and unsuppressed) during the tavern scenes. I spent Saturday watching my daughter and others compete in staging plays dealing with weighty and sometimes sad topics at the State History Day competition in Grand Rapids. To balance that experience, our reading reminded me that history can also be very funny!

Thanks to first time reader Andrea Lighthall for coming. Andrea is in a couple of area great books clubs and wonderfully read Falstaff for the middle section of the play among other roles. Also thanks to Erik Wilder for attending the readings even though the incentive of counting the readings for school credit has long gone.

It was also wonderful to see Andrea and Richard’s interest in the question of the “missing” Welsh text of Henry IV, Part 1 and the references that were uncovered. Please let me know if you are interested in this discussion and I will e-mail you the references that Andrea dug up.

We voted for the next tragedy to be read and “Antony and Cleopatra” came out on top. Please note the new date for the meeting, it will be on May 17 instead of May 10. Attending on May 10 (Mother’s Day) was problematic for a few of our readers. We will be in the Friends Room in the Plymouth Library this time, as that was the only room available on May 17. It is a nice room however, with a cherry wood table and comfortable chairs.

Please let me know if you want to be added to my Epic Poetry Group mailing list. I am starting a separate list for that group. You can ask to be on that mailing list even if you do not plan to attend any meetings but are curious about the activities of the group. We will be starting that group with a reading of the John Ciardi translation of Dante’s Inferno, I anticipate that the readings will be a lot of fun. Dante was a gateway into World literature (Abandon all hope all ye who enter here!) for me with his references to Homer and other Greek poets and philosophers and reading the Divine Comedy enriches one’s reading experiences of poets like Milton, Tennyson and T.S. Eliot.

Prashant Andrade

