This is a reminder that we will be meeting to read The Aeneid on September 20 at 1:00 pm at the Plymouth District Library. We will be in the Friends room.

It’s great to be starting the Aeneid this Fall and this should take us through the end of the year!

We will be reading Books 1-3 of the Fitzgerald translation. I will have my copy marked up demarcating the reading roles and if you have the time, you might want to do the same with pencil or note tabs.

It was wonderful to hear Andrea read the first few lines of the Canto in Italian when we read The Inferno. If anyone can read the first few lines of Book 1 in Latin, please let me know and we can start off the reading that way!

Cyndi, could you please let me know if there are any students interested coming to this reading? The Friends room can accomodate up to 12 people, so I might have to limit the number of students this time. I can ask for the bigger Dunning or Walldorf room for future readings. Thanks again, for coordinating this with the students.

As before, we will be having short discussions during the breaks. Readers are welcome to bring up things or questions they want to discuss.

Since we might have a few new readers, it might be worthwhile to repeat the primary “rule” that the group follows: No interrupting, correcting or praising readers while they are reading. Once in a while, a reader will solicit input regarding pronounciation and that is fine. 

I have been trying to think of the differences between a solitary silent reading and the experiences of reading aloud and here is what they are to me:

i) Sustained, vital immersion in the text for an extented length of time
ii) Thrill of hearing characters speak in different voices
iii) Freshness of material when you hear many voices speaking
iv) Slowing the text down, really hearing things that you might have glossed over in silent reading
iv) Sense of satisfaction of each reader  in contributing to this unique performance of the text, no matter how small the role

I love solitary silent reading and I do it all the time, but I am thankful that we can also get together as a group and share this wonderful experience.

Also, I am going to try something new towards the holiday season this year. My wife and I are thinking of hosting a reading of The Christmas Carol at a potluck dinner including “exactly the kinds of food that old Ebenezer Scrooge might have snacked on with his cup of tea”. Please let me know if this sounds like something you might be interested in doing. On a whim I searched Amazon and of course there is a book published just for an occasion like this, the Christmas Carol Cookbook and also probably dozens of recipes available online:

http://www.amazon.com/Christmas-Carol-Cookbook-Hollywood/dp/1558595848

Prashant Andrade (fea_123@yahoo.com)

